Journal Information
Research Areas
Publication Ethics and Malpractice Statement
To Scholarlink Resource Center
Guidelines for Authors
For Authors
Instructions to Authors
Copyright forms
Submit Manuscript
Call for papers
Guidelines for Reviewers
For Reviewers
Review Forms
Contacts and Support
Support and Contact
List of Issues


Journal of Emerging Trends in Engineering and Applied Sciences (JETEAS)


Article Title: Design of a Jathropha Oil Expelling Machine
by S.J. Ojolo, J.I. Orisaleye, and S.O. Ismail

Biodiesel is a fuel type that has already been proven suitable for use in diesel engines. The non-edible vegetable oil of Jatropha curcas, which grows in tropical and subtropical climates across the developing world, promises a commercially viable alternative to diesel. Jatropha oil is renewable, environmental friendly and can be easily produced in rural areas. This paper presents the design of an efficient Jatropha oil expelling machine carried out at the University of Lagos, Nigeria. The design of this Jatropha oil expelling machine will enhance the production of biodiesel from Jatropha seeds. The designs of the crushing system and pre-heating systems before pressing will enable the machine operate at efficiency greater than 90%. This machine is easy to maintain and economic for commercial uses. The Jatropha oil expelling machine has been designed to a capacity of 1000 kg/hr and can expel oil at the rate of 2.2 m3/hr. The machine is powered using electric motor of 40kW to be operated for 8 working hours. This machine is an improvement over existing machine and presupposes appropriate technology for manufacture, operation and maintenance.
Keywords: Jatropha oil, expelling, efficiency, biodiesel, machine design, crusher, pre-heating.
Download full paper

ISSN: 2141-7016

Editor in Chief.

Prof. Gui Yun Tian
Professor of Sensor Technologies
School of Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering
University of Newcastle
United Kingdom



Copyright © Journal of Emerging Trends in Engineering and Applied Sciences 2010