Journal Information
Research Areas
Publication Ethics and Malpractice Statement
To Scholarlink Resource Center
Guidelines for Authors
For Authors
Instructions to Authors
Copyright forms
Submit Manuscript
Call for papers
Guidelines for Reviewers
For Reviewers
Review Forms
Contacts and Support
Support and Contact
List of Issues


Journal of Emerging Trends in Engineering and Applied Sciences (JETEAS)


Article Title: Estimation of Solar Radiation at Ibadan, Nigeria
by Sanusi Yekinni K and Abisoye Segun G

This study presents and evaluates the behaviour of three empirical models based on the difference between maximum and minimum temperatures at Ibadan (7o 22N, 3o 53E). This was done by using monthly data on solar radiation and minimum and maximum temperature for a period of 6 years, (2001 2006). The corresponding monthly value of extraterrestrial solar radiation (Ra) was calculated for each data. Forecasting performance parameters such as coefficient of determination (r2), root mean square error (RMSE), mean bias error (MBE) and mean absolute percentage error (MPE) are presented as analyzed for the models. The Hargreaves model with linear regression has the highest r2 value of 0.72 and lowest RMSE, MBE, and MPE values of 1.59 MJm-2day-1, 0.82 MJm-2day-1 and -7.36% respectively. The best performance for the present data set was found at Hargreaves model with linear regression, and followed by Hargreaves model with power regression and original Hargreaves model. The present result suggested the Hargreaves model with linear regression reasonably predictable global solar radiation and the expected solar radiation behaviour in the area of study.
Keywords: solar energy, solar radiation, temperature, empirical models, extraterrestrial radiation
Download full paper

ISSN: 2141-7016

Editor in Chief.

Prof. Gui Yun Tian
Professor of Sensor Technologies
School of Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering
University of Newcastle
United Kingdom



Copyright © Journal of Emerging Trends in Engineering and Applied Sciences 2010